Vitra vs. the alternatives
Honest table. Not exhaustive. The Oura and Whoop columns are read from those companies’ own pages, with the source linked on each cell; where a primary source does not say, the cell says so rather than guessing.
Vitra
Oura
Whoop
Apple Health
What it is
A desktop app for Mac and Windows that reads your Oura Ring
The Oura phone app, plus Oura on the Web
A membership that includes a screenless band
Apple's on-device health store, on iPhone and iPad source ↗
Subscription
No Vitra subscription — €19 Solo or €29 Pro, once, after a 7-day trial
Yes for Gen3 and newer — Oura Membership, €5.99/month or €69.99/year in the EU ($5.99 / $69.99 in the US). Gen2 rings are exempt source ↗
Yes, always. WHOOP One €199/year or WHOOP Peak €264/year on the EU storefront; both include a WHOOP 5.0 source ↗
Free, included with the operating system
If you stop paying
Nothing to stop. The app and your local database stay on your computer
Ring and app still function but insights are 'much more limited'. Gen3-and-later users without an active Membership cannot access their data through the Oura API at all source ↗
Not stated — Whoop's membership page does not describe what happens to the device or your history when a membership lapses source ↗
Not applicable
Where the analysis runs
On your computer
In Oura's cloud, read back through its app, web view and API
In Whoop's cloud
On your device — Health syncs over iCloud, encrypted in storage and in transit, unless you turn it off source ↗
Desktop or web view
Yes — that is the whole product
Yes — Oura on the Web source ↗
Not stated — Whoop's export article documents the mobile app only source ↗
No — iPhone and iPad source ↗
Its daily score
Readiness, sleep and body scores against your own rolling baselines, with the numbers shown
Oura Readiness source ↗
Whoop Recovery and Whoop Strain source ↗
None — it stores and charts
Data export
One click, your whole history, written locally as a zip of two CSVs
Yes — data files can be downloaded from the Membership Hub, including by users without an active Membership source ↗
Yes — CSV export from the app, on every membership tier. Files cover Physiological Cycles (recovery, RHR, HRV, strain, sleep stages, SpO2 and skin temperature for 4.0+), Sleeps (including respiratory rate), Workouts (including GPS if enabled) and Journal Entries. The download link expires after 7 days source ↗
Not stated
Research cited with each alert
Yes — every flag names the study behind it
Not stated
Not stated
Not stated
Oura and Whoop columns are read from those companies’ own store, membership, support and developer pages, last verified 2026-08-06; cells carrying a link were read there. “Not stated” means exactly that — we found no claim either way, and it is not a claim the feature is missing. Prices are region-dependent and were read from EU storefronts. Oura, Whoop, Apple Health and Apple are trademarks of their respective owners; Vitra is not affiliated with any of them.
One at a time
A page each, with the reasoning rather than a row.
Vitra vs the Oura appVitra vs WhoopVitra vs Apple HealthVitra vs Ring Pulse (free)Every wearable, spec by spec
Where Vitra is different
- Local-first by design. All analysis runs on your machine. Your Oura history, baselines, AI model, journal — all of it sits in a SQLite file you own. No cloud account, no shared model, no telemetry.
- Research-backed, not vibe-based. Every alert cites a peer-reviewed study and proposes a concrete action. You don't get 'consider easing off' — you get 'cut training intensity 30% for 2 days, source: Plews 2013'.
- One-time payment. €19 Solo (1 device) or €29 Pro (3 devices). Buy once, own forever. Free updates within the same major version. No Vitra subscription incentive to lock you in.
- Tuned to you, not the population. Vitra computes your personal rolling baselines for HRV, sleep, RHR, readiness — then tells you when you're outside your range, with the actual numbers.
Spotted something inaccurate? Tell us at pt@amplifiedcreations.com and we’ll fix it.